top of page

02.20.2020

Dreadful, dreadful and dreadful again describes perfectly the way this day, today, is breaking. While I awoke with all the ambition and zeal one in such a position as my own could wish for or muster, before I could find out what the Cardashians, Brad Pit or Megan and Harry were up to and God save the Queen, the WHOLE THING collapsed.

I am trying to move on with this weapon in the arsenal no promises.

Nearly finished with Orthodoxy and am now a self-proclaimed fan and appreciating the brilliance of Gilbert (K) Chesterton. Without question not the easiest read but the more I do read I am finding the further back one travels (in time with) reading the mindset, training and vocabulary are much more vast and broad. I found myself looking up many words from this latest some I THOUGHT I knew and learned anew.

I learned to keep the phone handy with the Merriam-Webster dictionary app.

Speaking of the M-W app, I played a few quick quizzes of the ‘How Strong is your Vocab’ late yesterday and in a total surprise, nearly cracked the ‘HARD’ lock to move to the ‘DEVILISH’ level.

WHY SHOULD THAT BE OF SUCH A SHOCK?

Well, first, I usually do that activity early in the day and use it as tool and as a mental pencil sharpener. I am USUALLY more alert, quicker etc and have a little more ‘leisure’ time.

So late in the day and I actually aced 10-of-10 which is an accomplishment in itself as I did have to make a few very good guesses. This is timed and an algorithm figures the score by the ‘reaction time’.

Rather than prolong self-accolades and bring on insomnia for readership, I missed it by a mere 40 points. So close.

I mean I must get 10-of-10 AGAIN a rare fete THEN be 500 nanoseconds FASTER.

Always good to have goals.

I think I will read another Chesterton but not soon. I need a break so a pleasure read, perhaps a self-helpless, something trending. Don’t need all that much inspiration as I am starting to notice the birds singing more loudly in the morning and the daylight and dawn starting ever so sooner.

Now there’s the sun.

But we won’t see 16° until late NEXT week so perfect weather for inside projects such as painting and maybe some detailed carving. I started doing the stripes on the Emperor Angelfish last night during the stars game. Just plotting the fine lines and folks this IS a BEAST. I do NOT know what I think OR the thought process of selecting THIS FISH. It is worse that a hummingbird. Oh, 1000x.

DID THE STARS WIN?

Yes. 3-2 over the coyotes.

DIDN’T YOU PLAY FOR THE COYOTES?

I did but that’s another story for another time. A VERY funny one BTW.

Bill … out of here.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page