top of page

N Twenty-nineteen

Well Folks I am talking a ‘time out’ this day to allow my BP to descend to ‘normal’ limits and I can honestly say it is one of ‘those’ days where I am glad I do not own an assault rifle for I would surely use it.

OH NO. WHY?

Life is a series of nightmares. Obstacles, hurdles, roadblocks and petty annoyances call them or label as such that make YOU feel warm & fuzzy.

I considered and pondered a full blown essay on this topic (again) however fell short due to climate, scheduling and a string of these little nasties that popped up this day that have set my schedule off just enough to be irritating.

The day started with a high which I must explain.

As an active follower here of my misadventures, you know that I have been trying to get this shingles shot for a while now and if it isn’t one thing, it is two, three or four (2,3,4 …).

I had to issue a formal moratorium because the weather turned gorgeous and with the ride later today will have gotten four (4) consecutive longer off-season training rides in. AND it feels great.

I have been sleeping like someone hit me on the head.

The temperatures got well above 16, the sun actually warmed things up and with the exception of one (1) overtly windy day, it was GRANDE.

But today it is only 18, windy and my ‘saddle muscle’ memory has failed and yesterday I felt like it was bleeding down there so today is a shorter ‘sprint’ ride before the season cooler weather makes a comeback.

But getting back on track, I went yesterday to the new K-Roget and the cute pharmacist was working out front. She processed me thouroughly and were all set for the pain but I was missing one (1) plastic card that I needed to avoid an out-of-pocket OR in from MY pocket expense.

Abbreviating, I returned home and in a search this morning, first attempt, I actually found the card I was looking for. Were it not so early, I would have celebrated with a shorty of wine, makers w/ coke or a fruit roll-up but not this time.

Tangentital: While waiting to head out, I needed to do a quick letter to my tenant regarding the banking fiasco set in motion by his first bounced rent check. While checking the balances on-line from the CU, I had, get ready for this, a problem. Not surprised?

For some reason, THIS MACHINE would not allow me to make keyboard entries. I fiddled around, nada.

Just when I was thinking maybe there was something seriously wrong with the machine, I got hold of my brother and he made a ‘suggestion’ or more accurately used a phrase that tripped my memory.

I tried it, it worked and I got up and running to check balances and trannies on the account to finish the letter.

Next I try to print the simple.doc. Guess what … ?

Before I knew it, the printer had three (3) docs in the cue to print and had gone on strike. So here I am troubleshooting once again and trying to figure this latest mess out.

Well, I gave up and came up with a workaround to solve this most recent problem which was to save the .doc to a stick, take it someplace to have it printed then I could go get my shot.

NEXT PROBLEM: The machine was not reading the stick and the document would NOT save to the drive so I am running my head into this imaginary wall. REPEATEDLY.

I tried the same fix shut things down and simply walked away and was going to retool and try again manana.

After a nice shower, a cup of fresh hot tea and making a new ‘back-up’ plan for this day, I decided to try one (1) more time.

First thing, the printer spits out three (3) copies of the (same) letter. For grins, I tried again and this time the machine recognized the drive and all I am thinking is that it figures.

I finish sealing up the letter to post and make plans to head out for the shot.

I get to K-roget and there is a new tech at the register. Name tag says Faroosh something. I am thinking this is the feminine for Farouk and I realize trouble is just around the corner.

And I am correct.

Exhibiting an exemplary effort to contain my distain and hostility, the pharmacist from yesterday comes over to put out the fire. This is the gal from yesterday who led me to believe all I needed was this other supplemental card which I now had so smooth sailing had not Faroosh showed up for work this day.

I still would have wasted Faroosh but Ms Pharm calmly stated the problem, answered a few of my quick questions to my satisfaction and I left with no casualties. As I reflected on my way back to Silver, I am thinking this is the (or ‘a’) major difference with the foreign help we are being forced to employ.

It all goes back to communications. They cannot articulate the problem, they do not understand the problem and can’t or won’t offer solutions. They are most happy when YOU (me) are denied.

I have noted this 'customer service' attitude as a trend and I will get back to you when more data is available.

Ms Pharm saw the problem, explained it, answered my questions and I’ll see her again tomorrow.

Because when I got home, I put my hands AGAIN on the card I needed.

So you see class, don’t give up.

The bastards (idiots, imbeciles and morons) that try to make your existence or travels thru life more miserable and problematic, cannot win.

DO NOT let them win.

When they think they are so smart, let that be the gauntlet to drop.

Pick it up, slap them in the face with it OR thee BEST, stick it up their ass.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page