top of page

14 N 19

Back on track this day after TOTALLY DOWN and NEARLY OUT yesterday. A long story follows but now, this day all is well. So far. Sort of.

With a new day and a little warmer I feel back & well enough to at least THINK about normal activities.

Yesterday was the 13th and having the golf outing in FW cancelled made it like a ‘free’ day but there was no denying the stuffy congestion. Why if I had an Indian name yesterday I would have been called Chief Running Nose.

I dressed in layers of fleece, stretched out on a couch, set my wrist-timer for one (1) hour and read. If I fell asleep, I called that a ‘nap’ and was not alarmed or upset on any level, in any manner.

On morning breaks I reheated some sumac-hibiscus-yerba matte tea and before bed which was BEFORE 7:00 pm (6:59 actually) when I looked at the clock I made a cup of Mate de Coca, the ‘magic’ blend of tea from Peru, and woke up ready to ride. Chief Running Nose vanished into that great handkerchief in the night vapor.

SO WHAT IS THIS MAGIC BULLET AND WHERE CAN AN INQUIRING MIND FIND SUCH A THING?

Well, I got this small box of 25 from Sergio while working at 6502. Sergio was going home to Bolivia for an extended summer vacation and one day talking in the break room we got to the topic of yerba matte.

I asked him if he would pick me up some from a local market there thinking it might be more reasonable.

This is what he brought back with the following back story.

He drinks a cup of this tea when he feels yucko before going to bed and wakes up like nothing happened. All I recognize from the label is it contains yerba matte and chocolate. Everything else is Spanish so it might as well be Greek.

There is a very subtle hint or mild taste of chocolate but no denying it chased Chief Running Nose.

I am thinking about taking the box to Fiesta next time and seeing if they can order it. If I have to buy the whole carton I suppose I would do that and give them as gifts at the Holidays.

I am planning on another day on said couch taking a bite out of The Mosquito simply because I can and that is what I want to do. And at the breaks take a garage break and carve feathers and /or plan tomorrow which is forecasted to be a better day.

Looking forward to the weekend but before and that would be tomorrow venturing out for the errands.

One meeting early, APL to exchange a dvd and The Mosquito and look for possible weekend entertainment should I need such a thing and a very few grocery items.

WAIT A MINUTE ! YOU FINISHED THE MOSQUITO?

You WOULD pick up on that.

Short answer is no. I bought my own copy for the library here and it arrived so I am reading THAT one so returning the APL copy for others.

ISN’T THAT EXPENSIVE?

Look, it really is none of your business but I have AmEx bonus points that are linked to amazonshoppingaccount.com so it is a treat or gift to self. Besides, this way if anyone wishes to borrow it and read it, I can get out the contract, collect the security deposit and if I don’t see it again it shortens the Christmas card list and eliminates a number or other life-details like sympathy cards, birthday greetings etc.

OK. Time for another cup of hot tea and whichever comes first, the next chapter or a nap.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page