top of page

11 12 19

Birthday greetings and a big shout out to former teammate, line mate Br12 and most recently Bd12 aka S1 (Son I) heir apparently and possibly teammates once again.

From the sports desk, the world of hockey a HEADLINE no less … With Torey Krug down, Urho Vaakanainen called up to fill void on Bruins back end. No link to this one but I wish they would select better wording for such headlines.

HOMOPHOBE !!

Whatev.

The unavoidable seasonal change arrived last night and the castle is very cool and drafty.

Late yesterday afternoon after enjoying the moment upon completion of the ‘frost-proof’ cages to protect tomato plants, I came to stark realization the ‘Twin Palms’ were at HIGH risk and unprotected.

(claxon) DEFCON V.

Emergency trip to Joann’s for fabric then Home Depot for additional bungee cords to secure wrap THEN up the ladder in the high winds, darkness and chill ALL UNSUPERVISED at great risk of personal injury.

SAFETY THIRD.

At least.

One saving precautionary filed under 'safety' was having the mobile phone where it could be easily reached if I fell and broke my back. Were I to fall, striking head or into the cement pond, that shock would have been all she wrote.

But once again Yours truly dodges bullet(s) and snickers at the Alarmists and safety advocates.

As promised at the very end of last entry, the spotting of the little lone bufflehead was nothing if short of spectacular. From the distance aided by the new field glasses (binoculars), it was as mentioned one of three (3) ducks on the ENTIRE POND. But once spotted, he stole the show. The white areas on the head and side were beyond brilliant and at the same time breathtaking. This time he wasn’t diving just hanging fairly still in the water. Not sure but there MIGHT have been his hen dabbling in the vicinity but much more drab and hard to pick up at that distance so I didn’t bother. He was bobbing with the waves and turned into the wind which was brisk.

Today at this moment I should be in Fort Worth for the annual volunteers outing at Colonial CC early tomorrow morning. I had been watching the weather develop closely and yesterday I called and cancelled the room and later sent a reply note to the Volunteer Committee chairperson (chairman) informing him I was not coming over.

I received a prompt reply ‘Sorry and we will miss not seeing you’ which was PURE bullshit.

Fine I say.

So this morning the smarty phone alarm for an incoming message goes off and a brief message ‘rescheduling’ the event until 3 D, same start times.

This afternoon I am in one of my favorite Winter spots within the casa. Near a window, upstairs overlooking the cement pond. This chair receives passive solar heating and today, right NOW anything is a gift.

I am for all intents and purposes hunkered down.

I finished the first 100 pages of The Mosquito and struggling thru it. I received notice from APL that it is now officially overdue and they automatically renewed but I went ahead and bought a copy from amazon.

While reading the reviews, I learned something new. This sub-genre is called a ‘micro-history’ specifically THIS one the micro-history of the mosquito. The reviewer, obviously very well-read and literate, mentioned a ‘top-fifty’ list of the ‘Must Read’ microhistories.

And I was becoming concerned about running out of things to read in this lifetime.

Speaking of children, FB calls so I wrote off the schedule for the next half-hour. She started her new job and she was naturally excited. She ranted and babbled and I can tell my vocabulary is going to be expanding with new acronyms from neurology and neurosurgery. First example, ICP relief. Relieving intercranial pressure (ICP) usually associated with bleeding resulting from a stroke or trauma. That’s one. Without question more to follow.

Martha V checked in. She is available and wanting to know what’s going on.

I had a … peculiar ... dream last night. It looks like it will be another short, steamy installment of stories for the book.

Must capture those thoughts NOW before details slip away. For good.

Forever.

You are going to want to buy this book. Not sure if an excerpt will appear here or not.

Discretionary funding is lacking and wanting.

IOW, send $$$.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page